How do I get medical marijuana? Is cannabis, marijuana, pot or weed legal in Arizona? Is there a difference between a marijuana recommendation and a marijuana prescription? How do you locate a quality medical marijuana doctor?

With different rules for each medical marijuana state, it can be difficult to find the answers to these questions. So we’ve compiled this Medical Marijuana Arizona Fact Sheet to make it a little easier to obtain the medicine you need.

State Measure:          

Proposition   203 (AKA the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act)

 

Date Passed:

November 2, 2010

 

Defenses Provided:   

 

Arizona’s   medical   marijuana law provides exemption from prosecution if you   are in lawful possession of a registry identification card (aka marijuana card).

 

Medical Marijuana Uses:            

 

Under Arizona medical   marijuana law, medical cannabis may be used if you suffer from any of the following   conditions:

 

1.  Cancerglaucoma or positive   status for the human immunodeficiency virus, Hepatitis C, Amyotrophic   lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease), Crohn’s   disease, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease or the treatment of these   conditions, OR

 

2.  A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that   produces one or more of the following: cachexia or wasting   syndrome; severe and chronic pain; severe nausea; seizures, including   those characteristic of epilepsy;  or severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of   multiple sclerosis.

Documentation Needed:            

 

In   order to qualify for medical marijuana in Arizona, you must have   your physician fill out an ADHS-provided physician form. The ADHS is expected   to release this form in April 2011. We will keep you posted as soon as it is   released.

 

Marijuana Card Program:

To   become a medical marijuana patient in Arizona, you must register with the   state’s mandatory medical marijuana program to receive a medical   marijuana card. The ADHS is currently in the process of establishing the   application process. We will keep you posted as soon as they release the   application forms and finalize the application process.

 

Cannabis Possession and Growing   Limits:         

 

Qualified   patients or their caregivers may obtain up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in a   14-day period from a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary.  The   law allows the certification of a number of non-profit dispensaries not to   exceed 10% of the number of pharmacies in the state (which would be about   124). If the patient lives more than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary,  the patient or caregiver may cultivate up to 12 marijuana plants in an   enclosed, locked facility.

 

Caregiver Provisions:           

 

Medical   Marijuana patients in Arizona may designate a caregiver to possess, transport   and grow cannabis on the patient’s behalf. There may only be one caregiver   per patient.